The 10th Torino Workshop on AGB star nucleosynthesis: from Rutherford to Beatrice Tinsley and beyond

Christchurch, New Zealand, January 25-29, 2010

Scientific Organizing Committee

Carlos Abia (Universidad de Granada, Spain)
Peter Cottrell (University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Christian Iliadis (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, U.S.A.)
John Lattanzio (Monash University, Melbourne, Australia)
Maria Lugaro (Monash University, Melbourne, Australia)
Oscar Straniero (INAF-Osservatorio di Teramo, Italy)
Christopher Tout (Chairman, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom and University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Hans Van Winckel (Instituut voor Sterrenkunde, Leuven, Belgium)

Local Organizing Committee

Peter Cottrell (Chairman, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Mita Brierley (University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Jeffrey Simpson (University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Rhondda Sullivan (University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Christopher Tout (Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom and University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand)
Clare Worley (Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, Nice, France and University of Canterbury Christchurch, New Zealand)
Liz Wylie de Boer (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)

Sponsors

Department of Physics & Astronomy, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand Centre for Stellar & Planetary Astrophysics, School of Mathematical Sciences, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

FOREWORD

I am greatly honoured to be invited to write the following words of introduction to the proceedings of the 10th Torino Workshop on AGB star nucleosynthesis: from Rutherford to Beatrice Tinsley and beyond that was held at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand from January 25–29, 2010.

The reasons for having one of this series of meetings in Christchurch was to acknowledge two University of Canterbury graduates, Ernest Rutherford and Beatrice (Hill) Tinsley, who completed both undergraduate and graduate degrees at Canterbury before moving on to greater things internationally.

These famous people set the scene for this meeting, but the participants who chose to come to the antipodes made for a very successful meeting. The presentations and discussion covered broad areas of stellar and nuclear astrophysics, namely evolution, nucleosynthesis in globular cluster stars, binary stars, mixing, rotation and aspects of stellar astrophysics, as well as few miscellaneous talks.

A couple of scientific highlights for the week were visits to the Macmillan Brown Library to see Rutherford's collection of medals, more than 25 including the 1908 Nobel Medal, a display of Beatrice (Hill) Tinsley memorabilia in the Physical Science Library and a full day of the Workshop at Rutherford's Den (http://www.rutherfordsden.org.nz) in the Arts Centre of Christchurch. Rutherford's Den is where Ernest Rutherford did his first experimental work that led to scientific publications.

The social functions also played a large part in the proceedings. As well as the welcome reception, there was a fish and chip night and a BBQ. All these were held at the University of Canterbury Staff Club, also called Ilam Homestead. This building is where part of the true story portrayed in Peter Jackson's (yes that's the Lord of the Rings Director) Heavenly Creatures was filmed and actually took place. And instead of a Conference Dinner we had a Conference Lunch at the picturesque French Farm overlooking Akaroa Harbour. Following lunch we embarked on a boat trip of the Harbour that showed off some of New Zealand's marine life, including Hector's dolphins and baby penguins. The dolphins put on a fantastic show!

Finally thanks to Professor Roger Reeves, Head of the Department of Physics & Astronomy at the University of Canterbury, for supporting this meeting by paying the registration fee for all postgraduate students.

Peter Cottrell, 2nd June 2010



Fig. 1. The participants of the 10th Torino Workshop, in order from left to right and top to bottom: Roberto Gallino, Pilar Gil–Pons, Clare Worley, Joelene Buntain, Inma Domínguez, Ana Palacios, Oscar Straniero, Robert Izzard, Lionel Siess, Christopher Tout, George Angelou, Paul Wilson, Ross Church, Alessandro Chieffi, Athira Menon, Richard Stancliffe, Björn, Chiaki Kobayashi, Amanda Karakas, Laura Stanford, Mita Brierley, Gary Da Costa, Daniel Marshman, Onno Pols, George Wallerstein, Els van Aarle, Eric Lagadec, Hans Van Winckel, Julie Lutz, Simon Campbell, Marco Pignatari, David Yong, Ho Bun (Herbert) Lau, Devita Kamath, Peter Cottrell, Marco Limongi, Denis Puy, Maurizio Busso and Carlos Abia.